The Right Audio School

GoldWave general discussions and community help
jdeligiannis

The Right Audio School

Post by jdeligiannis »

This isn't exactly an inquiry about Goldwave, but I think I could get good help here.

I'm interested in studying audio production. Job types that are of interest would be (1) editing the audio on films or tv series, and/or (2) mastering audio on songs (this one requires more schooling I assume).

Based on experience, can anyone make recommendations on Universities, preferably in Southern California, that offer a degree in audio that would qualify me for such positions?

Maybe some of you professionals can explain what it is you do in the audio field, and where you went to school. Thanks.
DougDbug

Post by DougDbug »

Well... I'm not an audio professional, so don't give my comments too much weight. :D (I worked for a small sound & lighting company when I was in college.),
...recommendations on Universities...
I think you're on the right track there. Be very careful about "trade schools". A lot of trade schools are really in the business of collecting student-loan money. You might learn a lot, have a lot of fun, and get your hands on some really nice equipment and software, but it's unlikely to lead to a job or career. :(

I don't think you will find a university degree in "audio production", or anything that specific. But, I'll bet UCLA has a major that will allow you to "concentrate" or specialize in audio. When I was in college, I was a DJ on the college radio station, and I made quite a few "commercials". (Actually, non-commercial "spots" and PSAs.)

All show business is "tough". You can get a degree in acting, directing, or music, but that doesn't mean you can make a living at it. And, you can be extremely successful without any formal education or training! You do need skill or talent and good contacts! :roll: School is just one place you can acquire skills.