Recording problem - Volume level is distorted - please help!

GoldWave general discussions and community help
Musicman3

Recording problem - Volume level is distorted - please help!

Post by Musicman3 »

Hi guys 8) ,

I have been using Goldwave for several years now, and have had wonderful experiences using it. Recently, I got a new computer, and I noticed a problem that I never had before when I record sounds: The volume is distorted and the amplitude is flatlined.

Let me be specific as to what I mean.

This is graph of a Normal sound:

This is graph of a distorted sound that I've been recording. The amplitude somehow just flatlines at the top:

Because of this flatlineness, the volume of the sound is distorted, and when I play it, it sounds like the speakers are about to explode with excess bass.

Here are my settings:

Device Control Settings
Recording Source & Volume: Stereo Mixer, 75%

Sound hardware

If you need any other information, please let me know. Your help would be greatly appreciated, thank you! :D
Musicman3

Post by Musicman3 »

Anybody? :wink:
DougDbug

Post by DougDbug »

Device Control Settings
Recording Source & Volume: Stereo Mixer, 75%
Try a lower volume setting... Say, 50% or 25%.

What are you recording from, and how are you connected?

This "flatline" effect is called clipping. It results from trying to go above the maximum volume level at any point in the audio chain... For example, you get clipping when you try to go above 0dBFS in a WAV file, or if you try to get 110 Watts from a 100 Watt amplifier, etc.

Since the digital level does not reach 0dB (100%), it looks like something in the analog circuitry is clipping. (Something like this might happen if you hook-up a line-level output to a microphone input.)
Kummel

Post by Kummel »