Recording Mono LP Records

GoldWave general discussions and community help
Mike_12

Recording Mono LP Records

Post by Mike_12 »

Greetings to all: A beginner here.

Should I record mono Lp's as mono (on one channel) for the purpose of restoring? My intended use is for
CD's and mp3's.
I am open to other methods.

Mike_12;
DougDbug

Re: Recording Mono LP Records

Post by DougDbug »

Stereo!

I use Wave Repair ($30 USD) to remove "Clicks", "ticks", and "pops". When you have a defect that occurs in one channel, Wave Repair has a nifty feature that allows you to copy a few milliseconds of audio from the good channel into the bad channel to eliminate the defect. Even when a click occurs in both channels, there is often a few-millisecond delay between the channels and this trick works. (This normally even works with stereo records, since you don't notice the few-milliseconds of mono.) Wave repair has some other repair methods too, and if you're willing to take the time to get the best possible results, I recommend that you give it a try.

A simpler option is to record in stereo, and then blend the channels together (into one mono file or two identical stereo channels). This has the effect of reducing the average noise level (the same thing happens if you use a mono cartridge, or mix the left & right with a mixer.)

Or, you can simply choose the best-quality channel for each song (after recording in stereo).

CDs are always stereo (2 channels), but your burning software will probably accept a mono channel and then automatically duplicate it. ...Oh, if you're duplicating the album artwork and can't find an image online, I've recently discovered that Fed-X Office (Kinko's) has a scanner that's big enough to scan an LP cover.