Page 2 of 2

Re: cannot get batch processing to work

Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:56 am
by cdeamaze
to me it seems that goldwave has a problem with reading the contents of the textfile that is holding all the lines with the commands.
This is not a fault by GoldWave. You should, however, log your complaint to Microsoft :D. Anyone, who chose to use batch processing with a batch file, has to follow DOS rules. I believe that you may have violated DOS 8.3 rule, which stated file name can NOT exceed 8 characters and file extension can NOT exceed 3 characters. Remember you are using DOS commands. Try to use a simple file name such as batch.txt ( or sound.txt) instead of soundlist.txt (which has 9 characters!).

Re: cannot get batch processing to work

Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 5:52 pm
by GoldWave Inc.
I suggested adding "echo" at the beginning of the line so that you could see exactly what was being processed in the batch file (i.e. the exact command line that is being executed to run GoldWave). That may help to track down the problem. You could post one of the echoed lines. Also post a few lines from the soundlist.txt file.

Chris

Re: cannot get batch processing to work

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 5:39 am
by ehmdjii
thanks again for your replies!

cdeamaze: so, is there an alternative to using batch files on windows?


here are some lines from the txt-file

Code: Select all

-process:GoldWaveMP3ToAU "c:\work\res\silent.mp3" "-outfolder:c:\work\res" 
-process:GoldWaveMP3ToAU "c:\work\res\al_bonusstartup_006_01.mp3" "-outfolder:c:\work\res\" 
-process:GoldWaveMP3ToAU "c:\work\res\al_bonusstartup_006_01_variation_1.mp3" "-outfolder:c:\work\res\" 
-process:GoldWaveMP3ToAU "c:\work\res\al_coin_06.mp3" "-outfolder:c:\work\res\" 
-process:GoldWaveMP3ToAU "c:\work\res\al_golden_tick_03.mp3" "-outfolder:c:\work\res\" 
-process:GoldWaveMP3ToAU "c:\work\res\al_linewin_006_01.mp3" "-outfolder:c:\work\res\" 
if i call those separately line by line, then it works, so i assume the syntax is correct. it just results in starting and closing goldwave many many times, which takes a long time, that's why i want to use the batch-processing feature.

and if i put an echo in front of the command where i launch goldwave it looks like this:
"GoldWave.exe" -process@c:\GoldWaveSoundList.txt -proclog:"c:\GoldWaveLog.txt"

note: i have added the goldwave directory to my PATH variable.

let me know if you need any more information

thanks again!

Re: cannot get batch processing to work

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 12:57 pm
by cdeamaze
Just rename your file to soound.txt from soundlist.txt then your month-long nightmare will be over.
so, is there an alternative to using batch files on windows?
if i call those separately line by line, then it works, so i assume the syntax is correct. it just results in starting and closing goldwave many many times, which takes a long time, that's why i want to use the batch-processing feature.
Line by line, your batch file looks perfect EXCEPT your file name violates DOS 8.3 rule which is why I suggested it be renamed. As I stated before, there are 2 methods for batch processing:
Method 1:Icon(Windows) based - Pro: Point and Click, Convenient Con: requires operator standby
Method 2:Command line(DOS)based - Pro: No operator standby, Con: Clumsy, watch your typo, need to create a batch file which follows DOS rules.

You want to have the convenience of Windows, but you do NOT want to be around. Remember the old sayings, "you can't have your cake and eat it too".

Re: cannot get batch processing to work

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:34 pm
by GoldWave Inc.
I ran a few tests setting up everything as above and it worked. However I did notice a problem if a command line ends in a space. Make sure that none of the lines in the GoldWaveSoundList.txt file end in whitespace.

Also listen for the Windows exclamation sound when running the script, which would indicate an exception.

Chris

Re: cannot get batch processing to work

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:51 pm
by ehmdjii
Chris: the trailing whitespace was indeed the problem, i removed it and now it finally works!

the reason why the trailing space was there, is because i generated the soundlist like this:

echo -process:GoldWaveMP3ToAU "!filename!" "-outfolder:!directory!" >>c:\GoldwaveSoundList.txt

again, thank you very much for your help!