Industrial Application Frequency Removal

GoldWave general discussions and community help
Vibe1

Industrial Application Frequency Removal

Post by Vibe1 »

Greetings

I am new to GoldWave and would like to use it, if possible, to remove certain frequency sounds, so that I can detect the presence or not of other sounds. Roller bearings will emit high frequency sound when damaged, but on this one piece of equipment, where steam is injected, these sounds are muffled.
If possible how do I identify the frequency of the rogue steam and remove it, to be left with hopefully bearing tones?

Thanks

Bob
DougDbug

Re: Industrial Application Frequency Removal

Post by DougDbug »

The problem is,.... Frequency analysis or a spectrum display or anything the computer can do will include all of the noise and I'm not sure the bearing noise will stand-out in any better than it stands-out to your ear.

There are 4 basic types of filters - High pass, low pass, band pass and band reject. A high-pass filter will knock-out the low frequency noise, and that may make it easier to hear the bearing noise. If the bearing noise has a particular pitch, a bandpass filter will knock-out the higher and lower frequencies.

You might start with the graphic equalizer. Try reducing the sliders, starting on the left (low frequencies). You may find that one or two sliders represent the frequency band for the bearing noise. If so you'll have a rough idea of the frequency range, and you can experiment with high-pass or bandpass filters to better isolate the bearing noise.
JackA

Post by JackA »

Vibe1 wrote:Greetings

I am new to GoldWave and would like to use it, if possible, to remove certain frequency sounds, so that I can detect the presence or not of other sounds. Roller bearings will emit high frequency sound when damaged, but on this one piece of equipment, where steam is injected, these sounds are muffled.