remove room acoustic echo from a recorded live theatre event

GoldWave general discussions and community help
loninappleton

remove room acoustic echo from a recorded live theatre event

Post by loninappleton »

I have a project to correct. I'm not a professional. The piece of audio however is a
professional production of a stage play. There is room echo in all of it. Or perhaps a microphone placement
in the theater house which has produced an unnatural echo effect. Not singing in the
mountains bounceback but noticeable in every word.

Is there some sort of 'anechoic filter' ( if that is the right term) to process the whole
two hours plus wave form for flat natural human speech? Goldwave is the most complete software I know of
but I don't know where to begin for such a question as I am not working in the
audio field. I do my projects as hobby.
Tristan

Re: remove room acoustic echo from a recorded live theatre e

Post by Tristan »

loninappleton wrote:I have a project to correct. I'm not a professional. The piece of audio however is a
professional production of a stage play. There is room echo in all of it. Or perhaps a microphone placement
in the theater house which has produced an unnatural echo effect. Not singing in the
mountains bounceback but noticeable in every word.

Is there some sort of 'anechoic filter' ( if that is the right term) to process the whole
two hours plus wave form for flat natural human speech? Goldwave is the most complete software I know of
but I don't know where to begin for such a question as I am not working in the
audio field. I do my projects as hobby.
You'll have to make do with a noise gate, I think, and do what you can at the end of spoken words and phrases. A real-time de-echoing filter would need an adaptive mode to be effective, and it's hard to adapt to something that's inherently inconsistent.
I don't want to read the manual either, but, then, it isn't my problem, is it?
loninappleton

Post by loninappleton »