ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)?

GoldWave general discussions and community help
Sara
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 6:40 am

ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)?

Post by Sara »

hi
i have a question about sample rate

do the sample rates avaible in goldwave dipend by the audio card internal or external ?

or goldwave can handle and work with sample rate 96000 even the audio card can not handle it?

thanks
Goldwave lover
Sara
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 6:40 am

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by Sara »

hi
weid
i used a sample rate non supported by the audio card but the audio works :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
Goldwave lover
Tristan
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 8:20 pm
Location: Southeast Michigan

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by Tristan »

You're never going to get a higher effective sample rate than what the audio card/chip/interface can handle. In your case, Goldwave has simply made up the difference by adding a bunch of zeroes to your file.
I don't want to read the manual either, but it isn't my problem, is it?
Sara
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 6:40 am

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by Sara »

Tristan wrote:You're never going to get a higher effective sample rate than what the audio card/chip/interface can handle. In your case, Goldwave has simply made up the difference by adding a bunch of zeroes to your file.
hi
i know
but i would like if the sample rate is not supported by the audio card , what will use goldwave?
the windows settings?
thanks
Goldwave lover
Tristan
Posts: 399
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 8:20 pm
Location: Southeast Michigan

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by Tristan »

I guess I don't understand your question. Sorry.
I don't want to read the manual either, but it isn't my problem, is it?
Sara
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 6:40 am

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by Sara »

Tristan wrote:I guess I don't understand your question. Sorry.
hi
maybe the developer could answer better

1) i load an audio file flac @44.100
2) effect ->resample -> 352800
3) i play the audio , i can listen and hear the audio

now when i play audio ,what sample rate does it use goldwave to play the audio (resampled @352800) ??
thanks
Goldwave lover
DewDude420
Posts: 1166
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:15 pm
Location: Washington DC Metro Area
Contact:

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by DewDude420 »

Unless you're using ASIO or a WASAPI exclusive mode Windows resamples the audio to a default rate you set in device properties for your sound card. Goldwave defaults to WASAPI Shared mode.

The sound card will only support a maximum sample rate and no more. Without resampling, playback will fail if the device doesnt really support that rate.
Sara
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 6:40 am

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by Sara »

DewDude420 wrote:Unless you're using ASIO or a WASAPI exclusive mode Windows resamples the audio to a default rate you set in device properties for your sound card. Goldwave defaults to WASAPI Shared mode.

The sound card will only support a maximum sample rate and no more. Without resampling, playback will fail if the device doesnt really support that rate.
hi
Unless you're using ASIO or a WASAPI exclusive mode Windows resamples
can I ask you how can use on my laptop wasapi escluive mode?
i run w10 pro ,on another pc i have w7 both 64bit
thanks
Goldwave lover
DewDude420
Posts: 1166
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:15 pm
Location: Washington DC Metro Area
Contact:

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by DewDude420 »

Go in to device properties in Goldwave. Make sure its set to WASAPI/Core Audio (it may be pulseaudio...Im at work and on my phone). Under the quality drop down..pick something besides Shared mode.

DirectSound is always shared mode since its emulated in Win 7 and 10.
Sara
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 6:40 am

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by Sara »

DewDude420 wrote:Go in to device properties in Goldwave. Make sure its set to WASAPI/Core Audio (it may be pulseaudio...Im at work and on my phone). Under the quality drop down..pick something besides Shared mode.

DirectSound is always shared mode since its emulated in Win 7 and 10.
hi
there are only these options , at least i can find only them
where is it?
thanks
Goldwave lover
DewDude420
Posts: 1166
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:15 pm
Location: Washington DC Metro Area
Contact:

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by DewDude420 »

You'll have to wait until I get home for a screenshot. Somewhere on the list is a dropdown box that probablt days "shared" next to quality. There are additional options like 24-bit there.
DewDude420
Posts: 1166
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:15 pm
Location: Washington DC Metro Area
Contact:

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by DewDude420 »

You're in luck. I found one on the internet and circled the aetting you need to change.

https://i.imgur.com/tVxmeiZ.png
Sara
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 6:40 am

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by Sara »

DewDude420 wrote:You're in luck. I found one on the internet and circled the aetting you need to change.

https://i.imgur.com/tVxmeiZ.png
hi DewDude420
i should select pcm 24bit or ieee24
thank you so much
Goldwave lover
DewDude420
Posts: 1166
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:15 pm
Location: Washington DC Metro Area
Contact:

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by DewDude420 »

Sara wrote:
DewDude420 wrote:You're in luck. I found one on the internet and circled the aetting you need to change.

https://i.imgur.com/tVxmeiZ.png
hi DewDude420
i should select pcm 24bit or ieee24
thank you so much
Whichever one works.
Sara
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 6:40 am

Re: ia sample rate question related to audio card (internal)

Post by Sara »

DewDude420 wrote:
Sara wrote:
DewDude420 wrote:You're in luck. I found one on the internet and circled the aetting you need to change.

https://i.imgur.com/tVxmeiZ.png
hi DewDude420
i should select pcm 24bit or ieee24
thank you so much
Whichever one works.
thanks !
i really appreciate you help
Goldwave lover
Post Reply