Recording Device Mono Selection

GoldWave general discussions and community help
Post Reply
frogtumor2
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2019 12:47 am

Recording Device Mono Selection

Post by frogtumor2 » Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:01 am

There's supposed to be a selection in the recording device menu that allows you to assign what source channel(s) is used for a mono recording. In the manual it's called the mono source options. That option doesn't show up for me, why would that be?

This is what I see:
Image

I was on v6.3x (don't remember exactly) and just updated to v6.41 to try and fix it.

DougDbug
Posts: 2029
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: Recording Device Mono Selection

Post by DougDbug » Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:16 pm

Since nobody has replied I'll guess it's related to the hardware & drivers. (I don't see that option either.)

You normally get both channels mixed together if you're recording from a stereo source. And, if you are recording from a multi-channel interface you may only get channels 1 & 2 as left & right (or mixed to mono) when recording with GoldWave.

Irving
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 12:02 am

Re: Recording Device Mono Selection

Post by Irving » Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:31 pm

I don't see it either. Can't say I ever remember seeing it, though, even since the version 5x days.
Windows 10 1903 - Goldwave 6.41

2leftfeet
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 10:28 pm
Location: Napier New Zealand

Re: Recording Device Mono Selection

Post by 2leftfeet » Thu Jul 11, 2019 6:28 pm

Nor me either, but you just record both L and R as a normal stereo signal, then uncheck the unwanted channel (the green check box on the left). Copy the other channel and paste into a new window which will be mono. Easy - just two shortcut keystrokes. Ctrl+C and then Ctrl+P.

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3872
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: Recording Device Mono Selection

Post by GoldWave Inc. » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:41 am

There used to be an option for that, but it was removed because of changes in the Windows driver. Recent versions of GoldWave tell the device to record in mono directly.

If you need a specific channel, it would be best to record as stereo and save only the channel required or mix them as needed.

Post Reply