Error with jpg images

VideoMeld discussions and community help

Error with jpg images

Postby mikez006 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:52 pm

When I try to drag and drop jpg images from a folder, I get the following error.

Cannot open Media in file:
Try using "option | configure VideoMeld" to download "FFmpeg" decoders

However if I click "add image" then select the same image, I can add it without error.

I'm working on a video and it will have 300+ images. If I have to open and browse for every image, it's going to take me forever. I need to be able to drag and drop.

Any ideas?
mikez006
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:48 pm

Re: Error with jpg images

Postby GoldWave Inc. » Tue Dec 29, 2015 2:14 pm

Drag-and-drop seems to be working fine on my system for JPEG images. If additional decoders were installed on your computer, it may cause the image to be detected incorrectly as a video (some decoders have that flaw).

When using "Add Image" in VideoMeld, you can hold the Ctrl or Shift keys to select multiple images rather than adding them one at a time.
User avatar
GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: St. John's, NL

Re: Error with jpg images

Postby mikez006 » Tue Dec 29, 2015 4:34 pm

Dragging multiple images didn't work.
I removed the decoders folder in programdata and that didn't work either.

It seems all my images end with JPG, but if I rename an image to jpg (lowercase) I can then drag drop that image without any error.

Is there any work around to this or do I need to figure out how to rename all my image files?
mikez006
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 6:48 pm

Re: Error with jpg images

Postby 2leftfeet » Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:00 pm

All my images except one folder had the ".jpg" suffix and I can drop all of them into Videomeld like you can without any trouble. The images with the ".JPG" suffix will not drag and drop. After renaming them It all worked. It looks as if there is something not quite right with Videomeld, but you can use the "add an image" button and select your picture and "open".
Hope you don't have to rename all your images - what a job :(
2leftfeet
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:58 pm
Location: Napier New Zealand

Re: Error with jpg images

Postby GoldWave Inc. » Fri Jan 08, 2016 4:16 pm

I'll look into that for the next update. In the command prompt, you can use the command "rename *.JPG *.jpg" to fix the suffix for all files in the current folder.
User avatar
GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3763
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:13 pm
Location: St. John's, NL


Return to VideoMeld General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Google Ads

Keywords: sound editor, song editor, audio editor, sound converter, sound recorder, itunes, mp3, cassette, tape recording software, vinyl, LP, restoration, noise reduction, clean, filter, visual, speech