Poor performance and stuttering

General discussions and questions about MULTIQUENCE
Post Reply
MattW
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Phila. PA

Poor performance and stuttering

Post by MattW » Wed Mar 29, 2006 11:05 am

Gentlemen:
I have had performance problems with Multiquence. I have read the Help section, FAQ, and Forums but I am still experiencing poor performance.

Specifically: when previewing in the editor the clips will “stutter”, repeating about 3 seconds then moving forward and stuttering again. I will receive the warning message in the status bar indicating that I have insufficient system resources.

Circumstances: I have this problem after performing an edit, e.g. splitting or cutting to beginning. This will happen with only one (1) video and one (1) audio track (5 minutes) loaded in Multiquence. I have tried to lighten the load on the system by shrinking the size or even muting the video. The problem will resolve if I exit and restart Multiquence. Then will reoccur after the next edit.

Paradox: When I view my system information, Task Manager indicates that I am only using 20% of my CPU and about 250MB of 512MB memory.

Things I have tried: I have changed my performance settings for both video and audio cards, ended other system process to run a “clean” machine.

Question: Other than my sound card the system would be considered “high performance”, e.g. Dell Dimension 8100 XPS. I am using a cheap audio card (SB live). If the sound card is the problem I don’t mind replacing it; however if it is not the problem I do not wish to waste the time and money.

I appreciate any insight you have.

Very truly,
Matt Walters
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

OKCBoy
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:42 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Poor performance and stuttering

Post by OKCBoy » Wed Mar 29, 2006 12:24 pm

MattW wrote:Specifically: when previewing in the editor the clips will “stutter”, repeating about 3 seconds then moving forward and stuttering again. I will receive the warning message in the status bar indicating that I have insufficient system resources.
I have similar problems, but I'm not processing video; audio only.

It occurs when I have several fader changes in multiple sections happen simultaneously (typically fade-outs). I've always just assumed my 1.5 Pentium IV with 512MB RAM was insufficient.

Stiiv
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Fallentown, PA

Post by Stiiv » Fri Mar 31, 2006 2:22 pm

What codec was used to create the original video file? Some of the newer codecs push P3/P4 processors really hard (like huffyUV, for instance). I have a 5-year-old P3 @ 933 with 512mb ram, & rarely, if ever, have that kind of problem in MQ.

Note also that, while cheap, the SBLive sound card does a pretty good job for a consumer card...especially with WDM (winME & above) drivers.
Stiiv

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3897
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: Poor performance and stuttering

Post by GoldWave Inc. » Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:34 pm

If you are working with Apple Quicktime Movies (.MOV files) or MP4 files, then there is a problem with recent versions of Quicktime that causes audio to decode very slowly. Apple is working on it, but an alternative method of decoding will be implemented in a future version of Multiquence anyway.

Try saving the audio section as a 16 bit Wave file and replace that section in your project to see if that helps.

Chris

MattW
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Phila. PA

Post by MattW » Tue Apr 04, 2006 11:37 am

Format is AVI. I captured the video/audio from a Digital 8 cam using Movie Maker. I avoid Quicktime like th plague.

Thanks.

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3897
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Post by GoldWave Inc. » Wed Apr 05, 2006 4:47 pm

If saving the audio track as an uncompressed 16 bit wave file does not solve the problem, it is most likely a problem with the sound driver.

Also try lowering the playback quality under Options | Playback to see if that makes any difference.

Chris

MattW
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:51 pm
Location: Phila. PA

Post by MattW » Thu Apr 06, 2006 12:15 pm

Thanks Chris,

I had downloaded the latest drivers prior to my first posting. I also used 11K playback rate. Also, I had loaded the file and then saved as audio using 16bit, then created a new project using the 8bit track. I think that I am not taxing Multiquence at all.

This seems to be pointing to my audio card. Do you agree?

Thanks,
Matt

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3897
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Post by GoldWave Inc. » Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:09 pm

If you have access to another computer with different sound hardware, then try installing the evaluation version of Multiquence and a copy of the AVI file to see how it performs.

Chris

Post Reply