Audio Plug-ins

General discussions and questions about MULTIQUENCE
Post Reply
OKCBoy
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:42 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Audio Plug-ins

Post by OKCBoy » Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:59 pm

I'm having trouble with audio plug-ins. I have two, both free. One from Anwida Soft (DX ReverbLite) and one from Ohm Force (Frohmage).

I select an audio section, choose Effect | Audio plug-ins... and then check the box on either of the two. I choose Properties and get the proprietary dialogs to set delay, EQ, etc. Then I choose OK in the proprietary dialog and OK in the Multiquence Plug-in List dialog.

The audio section shows the little yellow square in the lower left to indicate an effect has been applied. When I play it back, though, the section has no effect.

I know there are some plug-ins that don't work (if they extend the length/time of the audio). I think I ran across some of those because they caused the program to shut down. These two, however, do not cause a shut-down, they just produce no effect.

So, my questions are:

1. Am I missing something on getting these two to work? or....

2. Are these plug-ins extending audio length/time and therefore being ignored?

If the answer to #2 is "yes", then does anyone know where I can get some "free" plug-ins that DO work?

Thanks.

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3897
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: Audio Plug-ins

Post by GoldWave Inc. » Mon Jul 04, 2005 11:52 pm

There are a lot of inconsistencies in DirectX audio plug-ins. Some store settings in ways that are not compatible with Multiquence. In such cases the effect's default settings are always used (which may mean the effect is always inactive). If you display the properties of the effect, change some settings, close the properties window, display the properties again and the setting you made are not remembered, then the effect is not compatible with Multiquence.

Chris

OKCBoy
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:42 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Audio Plug-ins

Post by OKCBoy » Thu Jul 07, 2005 12:36 am

GoldWave Inc. wrote:If you display the properties of the effect, change some settings, close the properties window, display the properties again and the setting you made are not remembered, then the effect is not compatible with Multiquence.
Using the Anwida Soft DX ReverbLite, I can change the properties, close the properties window, then come back in and it remembers my settings.

Also, when I play the section with the effect, I hear the following:

1. A "solo" of the track with the DX effect audible for half a second (the effect sounds fine)
2. Then audio stops for about 5 seconds like the processor (1.5 GHz Pentium) is working to catch up.
3. All tracks kick in with the DX-effect section sounding good for another half second.
4. All tracks continue, but the DX-effect section no longer has effect applied.

Weird. Thoughts?

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3897
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: Audio Plug-ins

Post by GoldWave Inc. » Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:33 pm

It looks like the Anwida Soft DX Reverb Lite plug-in sometimes causes floating point exceptions. Unlike most DirectX hosting programs, Multiquence does not ignore such errors and is more susceptible to them.

Other than that, the effect seemed to work in Multiquence without stopping or significant processor usage, so I cannot explain the problem you've described unless your system is not fast enough. You could try reducing the playback rate under Options | Playback to see if that helps.

Chris

OKCBoy
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:42 pm
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Audio Plug-ins

Post by OKCBoy » Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:36 pm

GoldWave Inc. wrote:Unlike most DirectX hosting programs, Multiquence does not ignore such errors and is more susceptible to them.

Other than that, the effect seemed to work in Multiquence without stopping or significant processor usage...
Thanks for the info. A couple of quick follow-up questions:

1. When Multiquence encounters a floating point error, does it just not process the effect, or does it shut down?

2. When you ran the Anwida effect successfully, what speed processor did you use?

Thanks again.

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3897
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: Audio Plug-ins

Post by GoldWave Inc. » Mon Jul 18, 2005 11:01 pm

I tested on a 3GHz system. If a plug-in causes a floating point error, then consequences depend on when the error occurs. In any case the plug-in should not be causing those errors at all.

Chris

Post Reply