How to change Hz and kbps

GoldWave general discussions and community help
Post Reply
batuhann
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2020 11:05 am

How to change Hz and kbps

Post by batuhann »

Hello,

I have .wav file and it should have 16 bit, 8000Hz, 128 kps, mono.

But it is 16 bit, 44100 Hz, 705 kbps, mono.

How can I change hz and kbps.

There is no option for that.
DougDbug
Posts: 2071
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: How to change Hz and kbps

Post by DougDbug »

Effect -> Resample -> 8000Hz.

NOTE - For uncompressed files you don't have to manually set the bitrate (kbps):
16-bits x 8000 samples per second x 1 channel = 128 kilobits per second.
16-bits x 44,100 samples per second x 1 channel = 705.6 kbps
sherman
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 1:48 pm

Re: How to change Hz and kbps

Post by sherman »

But suppose you want 44,100 samples per second and 128kbps. How can you choose those attributes?
DougDbug
Posts: 2071
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: How to change Hz and kbps

Post by DougDbug »

You'd have to use a lossy format such as MP3.

With uncompressed formats everything is proportional... If you double the sample rate (kHz) you double the bytes-per-second and the bits-per-second (kbps), etc. (There are 8 bits in a byte.)
Post Reply