Encoding to WMA 9 after installing Windows Media Player 11

GoldWave general discussions and community help
Post Reply
kevinjaycurrier
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 11:47 pm

Encoding to WMA 9 after installing Windows Media Player 11

Post by kevinjaycurrier » Mon Nov 27, 2006 12:05 am

I installed Media Player 11 this weekend, and things were working great until I went to encode a file using Goldwave. I help publish my church's sermons online and we have been using WMA 9.1 16/16 MONO to do this. After installing MP11, I have export options for WMA 9 Voice and WMA 9.2 16/16 MONO - but neither of them work. I get the following error:

"No codec is available to encode or decode the audio format or an error occured during conversion."

I updated to the latest version of Goldwave (5.17) and that did not seem to help. I then downloaded "Windows Media Encoder 9 Series" which allowed me to manually convert the file (WAV) but still could not do anything from within Goldwave.

Converting to WMA 10 Professional does work in Goldwave 5.17, but that only provides options at crazy bitrates that are not needed for voice content.

Any help with this issue would be appeciated.

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3872
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: Encoding to WMA 9 after installing Windows Media Player

Post by GoldWave Inc. » Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:09 pm

Try using Windows Update to make sure any updates for WMP11 are installed. If that does not help, try uninstalling WMP11 or use System Restore to revert back to a time before WMP11 was installed.

Chris

mrspock
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:14 am

Media Player 11

Post by mrspock » Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:33 am

The exact thing happened to me! I, too, prepare my church's recorded sermons in a manner similar to the other gentleman. I have alos updated to the more recent version of GoldWave. Is there any thing that can be done that does not mean that I have to restore my computer proior to me upgrading to Media Player 11.

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3872
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: Media Player 11

Post by GoldWave Inc. » Fri Dec 01, 2006 8:36 pm

The problem is still being looked into. The only solution right now is to revert back to the older version of Windows Media Player.

Chris

bamafan
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:48 am

Post by bamafan » Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:49 am

Anything new on this issue?

mrspock
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:14 am

Media Player 11

Post by mrspock » Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:47 am

:roll: Any word on a solution to this problem?

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3872
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: Media Player 11

Post by GoldWave Inc. » Tue Dec 12, 2006 4:44 pm

I still have no explanation for this problem, other than something wrong in the WMVCORE.DLL or WMSPDMOE.DLL module included with Windows Media Player 11. I've created a stripped down version of the encoder. It works fine on a computer with WMP 9 or 10, but fails on a computer with WMP11 (error code NS_E_AUDIO_CODEC_ERROR). It fails for "WMA Voice 9, 8 kbps, 8 kHz, mono" attributes, but works for "WMA 9.2, 8 kbps, 8 kHz, mono CBR" attributes, which all but rules out a problem with the test code.

Even more perplexing is that Windows Media Encoder program seems to work with all versions of WMP with any attributes, which all but rules out a problem with WMVCORE.DLL or WMSPDMOE.DLL.

I'll continue to work on it.

Chris

GoldWave Inc.
Site Admin
Posts: 3872
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:43 pm
Location: St. John's, NL
Contact:

Re: Media Player 11

Post by GoldWave Inc. » Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:07 pm

It turns out the problem is caused by a bug in one of the Windows Media Player modules after all. The WMA Voice encoder fails to accept large amounts of audio data. When splitting the data into smaller pieces (less than 4kB), it works correctly. The WMAFile plug-in will be changed in the next GoldWave update to use smaller blocks, even though that will be less efficient.

If any Microsoft developers read this forum, please make note of this bug.

Until Microsoft releases a WMP patch or the next update for GoldWave is released, you'll need to revert back to WMP10.

Chris

Post Reply