Editing Voice / The Shadow

GoldWave general discussions and community help
PatRM

Editing Voice / The Shadow

Post by PatRM »

I downloaded, from the Internet Archive site, episodes of old time radio shows. I realize that some of these files are poor because of the lack of quality in capturing, but they should be better, in my opinion, than what they are. If anyone can go to this site and download this episode...it is League Of Terror from 1938. I'm specifying because it gives one a better idea if they can try the same thing. I am really a novice at this, but have been playing with the program for years. I have had some luck by boosting the mid range. That is it. Most of these recordings sound a bit like they are out of synch or have some kind of echo. Any help would be appreciated.
rec78

Re: Editing Voice / The Shadow

Post by rec78 »

Please provide a link-The internet archives can be difficult to search sometimes if the submitter does use the right keywords-I cannot find the episode you are referring to. I can make a suggestion that may or may not help you. Try using the mono-mix feature in the channel mixer if you are recording in stereo. I have only used this on 78 rpm records. If they are close in phase but not quite right it may help or maybe not. You can try raising the voice frequencies a few octaves - again a suggestion that may or may not help--It works great on 78's.
DewDude420

Re: Editing Voice / The Shadow

Post by DewDude420 »

Here's the thing you need to remember about old time radio shows:

Tape wasn't invented till the 40's and it wasn't till after World War II that the first machines were brought over. Yes, we had wire recordings, but they were only used in mostly telephone applications till the 40's when tape hit the market in which they held a small but very short niche.